

TODAY'S PAPER » NATIONAL

Published: September 28, 2008 00:00 IST | Updated: February 11, 2011 11:27 IST September 28, 2008

CSIR names Bhatnagar winners

Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research on Friday announced the winners of its prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology for 2008.

The winners are: Biological sciences – G.P.S. Raghava, Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh; and L.S.Shashidara, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology.

Chemical sciences – Pradeep Thalappil, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras; and Jarugu Narasimha Moorthy, IIT, Kanpur.

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences – P.N.Vinayachandran, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Engineering Sciences - Ranjan Kumar Mallik, IIT, Delhi.

Mathematical Sciences - Jaikumar Radhakrishnan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

Medical Sciences - Ravinder Goswami, All-India Institute of Medical Sciences, Delhi.

Physical Sciences – Raghunathan Srianand, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune; and Srikanth Sastry, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research Bangalore.

Director-General Samir K. Brahmachari made the announcement at a function got up to mark the CSIR Foundation Day. The prize comprises a cash award of Rs. 5 lakh, a citation and a plaque.

Dr. Brahmachari also announced the winner of the CSIR award for S&T innovations for rural development. It has been won jointly by the Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants, Lucknow, and the Central Salt and Marine Chemicals Research Institute, Bhavnagar.

Email the Editor

Printable version | May 17, 2015 12:49:30 AM | http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/csir-names-bhatnagar-winners /article1347294.ece

© The Hindu